The river of here and now

Here is an extract from a Papaji book called ‘Nothing ever happened’ which really moves me and removes me:

A man says to him- “You say no effort is necessary to realise the Self, but for any accomplishment some effort is necessary. If I am on the banks of the river Ganga and I want a pot of water to drink, I have to dip my pot in the river and lift it to my lips… If I don’t make any effort, it will not come to me”

Papaji replies “For the Ganga to be the Ganga it must be enclosed by two banks. Now, if you throw away the banks, where is the Ganga?”

…………………..

When I read this it throws the futility of the spiritual search right back in my face. I am flooded by the peace of this great mystical river breaking its banks – banks that were never really there at all.

The journey to get somewhere collapses… this idea of a little ‘me’ disappears…

and what remains is this unspeakable grace of right now.

Leave a comment